Friday Night Lights: CFL

Last night was the first night in very long time that I not only watched a football, but enjoyed watching a football game. And my source of enjoyment came from an unlikely source. The Canadian Football League. While ESPN was airing the always exciting NBA Summer League action, I flipped over to ESPN2 to see if there was something that didn’t make me want to kill myself. Saskatchewan Roughriders (had to google the spelling) vs.Edmonton Eskimos. Now I’m not going to lie, I have no clue where these teams are located on a map. All I know it’s somewhere north and that’s it.

Its football in early July, not knowing the teams, I was just thankful.

Lets start from the top:

There are only 9 teams in the league so they play games from Wednesday to Friday (absolute dream for a gambler like myself). This is genius.

Next lets talk about the aesthetics of the game:
These uniforms look like a youth football team should wear them and I loved every inch of them. The footballs have the white lines wrapping around the entire ball which looked like someone took paint and brush and continued the lines. Seeing the ball spiral in the air on a long pass was great. Something I’ve never seen at a football game was the ad sign boards on the sidelines and ads on the field. The best part of this was the announcer saying ball on the 47 “Coors Light” hash mark. Now looking at field 150 yards long and 65 yards wide with the goal posts on the goal line and not at the back of the 20 yard endzone. Its kind of gimmicky put doesn’t really affect the game.

football-canadian-CFL-field-dimensions-diagram-lrg

Lets talk about the rules:

3 downs instead of 4 was odd.
Being able to challenge pass interference was a nice change and something the NFL should look into.
The craziest rule was on onside kicks the team that last touches the ball no matter what gets possession (this changed the game last night).
Last nights game went into overtime and played it like college football does. I loved it

In the end, in front of a crowd of 34,000 (looked like 3400). Saskatchewan mounted a 4th quarter comeback to force overtime but came up literally an inch short on a 3rd down conversion to Edmonton 39-36.

Looks like I have a new thing to watch as we all deal with the agony of waiting for the NFL.

Leave a Reply

